Playlist

In my preparation for extended periods of no motivation, the idea of passive (or active) listening to music came to mind. So I went on a search for inspirational music for just an occasion. Surely there must be stuff out there, even money making ventures cashing in on the cancer thing. What I found was a distinct dearth of exactly such material. Individuals listed a few favorites but nothing approaching what I had in mind. Well such a thing is only a challenge to make my own. In case anyone is curious or interested, or if someone down the road is looking for some ideas to help them get through a healing crisis, here is my list. Most of them are chosen for healing inspiration, others for their energy or plain upbeatness.

  • Dark Road by Annie Lennox    this sounds depressing but its hopeful and I love Annie
  • Landslide by Fleetwood Mac    a classic, sweet song
  • Don’t Stop by Fleetwood Mac
  • Don’t Stop Believing (regionals version) by Glee    of course!
  • Don’t Give Up by Peter Gabriel
  • You are Not Alone by Michael Jackson
  • Down to the River to Play by Alison Krauss     lovely gospel like song
  • Today I Sing the Blues by Aretha Franklin
  • Someday Soon by Lucy Kaplansky
  • Imagine by John Lennon
  • Holiday by Madonna     for when I can dance again
  • Cherish by Madonna    ditto
  • Today’s the Day by Lucy Kaplansky
  • Angel (Spanich version) by Jon Secada
  • The Dog Days are Over (Glee Version)    great energy
  • Free by Jan Arden
  • Set Fire to the Rain by Adele    powerful
  • Bridge Over Troubled Waters by Aretha Frankin
  • Don’t Let Your Feet Touch Ground by Ash Koley    delightful!
  • Let Her Dance by Bobby Fuller Four    for when I can
  • God Only Knows by The Beach Boys    always gives me chills
  • Good Timin’ by The Beach Boys
  • Just Stand Up! by various female artists, the only cancer support song I could find
  • Solid Ground by Bobby Caldwell
  • Hear Me Lord by Bonnie Raitt
  • One Belief Away by Bonnie Raitt
  • Angel From Montgomery by Bonnie Raitt and John Prine
  • The Lazy Song by Bruco Mars   because there will be a lot of days like this and it reminds me of the Leonard Nimoy video
  • Back to You by Bryan Adams    fun fun fun
  • Save Your Sadness by Christopher Cross
  • Carry On by CSNY
  • Deja Vu by CSNY   both songs you can lose yourself in
  • Feelin’ Alright (live) by Dave Mason
  • Day After Day by Alan Parsons Project.      childhood fantasy fodder
  • Layla by Derek and the Dominos   just because its one of the bestest songs ever!
  • Tiny Dance by Elton John    ditto!
  • Green Pastures by Emmylou Harris   more sombre by moving
  • Prayer in Open D by Emmylou Harris     ditto
  • What is Life by George Harrison
  • My Sweet Lord by George Harrison
  • Stronger  Glee version    OK, I know Artie is singing a girl’s song, but I prefer this one
  • Firework by Katy Perry   sparkling brassieres aside, I love the empowerment of this
  • Raise Your Glass by Pink    for when I can!
  • Desde la Obscuridad by Gloria Estefan      Spanish version of song she wrote after her back accident
  • Smile/Happy Days are Here Again by Rachel and Kurt   another Glee fav
  • No One is to Blame (acoustic version) by Howard Jones
  • Be OK by Ingrid Michaelson
  • Keep Breathing by Ingrid Michaelson
  • This is War by Ingrid Michaelson
  • Do it Now by Ingrid Michaelson
  • You Don’t Need by Jane Siberry    song that mesmerized me at my first post AA concert
  • The Sky is So Blue by Jane Siberry    just delighftul
  • Calling all Angels by Jane Siberry and kd lang     naturally
  • Electricidad by Jesse and Joy   Mexican duo with an energizing song I adore
  • Nuevo Dia (New Day) by Jesse and Joy
  • Annie’s Song by John Denver    childhood favorite
  • River by Joni Mitchell
  • Trial by Fire by Journey
  • Invincible by Pat Benatar
  • Laughing With by Regina Spektor
  • Human of the Year by Regina Spektor
  • Better by Regina Spektor
  • The Consort by Rufus Wainwright    this song just makes me soar
  • Ordinary Miracle by Sarah Maclachlan
  • Catfish John by The Gertrudes   more fun
  • Detours by Sheryl Crow
  • Strong Enough by Sheryl Crow
  • No One Said it Would Be Easy by Sheryl Crow
  • I Shall Believe by Sheryl Crow
  • The Finer Things by Steve Winwood
  • While You See a Chance by Steve Winwood
  • Fly by Steve Winwood
  • Hold On by Wilson Phillips
  • Just Like Heaven by The Cure
  • Above the Clouds by Cyndi Lauper
  • Thank U by Alanis Morissette
  • Song of the Whale by Tangerine Dream
  • Nostalgia Trails by Tino Izzo

Any other suggestions would be appreciated! The more the merrier!

Now on to the down and dirty; I am not going home tonight. The doctor finally came round (this after showering and washing my hair and getting new sheets and everything!) to say until I am ready for once a day antibiotics, I need to be here. However I can go out on a day pass and spend a few hours in different surroundings. So once we get the specifics from the nurse, we’ll hang here. I will need to come back for overnight. However it is very possible that tomorrow is more promising and I may be let out so that I come in only once a day. It depends on a few things, and they are still being super cautious. It’s as if they were disappointed that as soon as I left I got a fever. Well! So glass, still half full.

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. chris brown
    Feb 20, 2012 @ 17:40:54

    Hey – great employment of music! sending you daily vibrations from nyc and the island and looking forward to a day of music made just for you on sunday. Be good to yourself and let me know if you need any errands run xxcb

    Reply

  2. amanda
    Feb 20, 2012 @ 20:24:12

    Great list, Sus!

    May I humbly suggest:

    Reply

  3. Robert Graham
    Feb 20, 2012 @ 20:43:05

    nice list!

    Reply

  4. Pete Bowers
    Feb 22, 2012 @ 21:58:46

    For when you want to dance, and feel good with a lotta Love & Affection…

    (If you watch closely, you’ll see Sus, me and the kids make an appearance in this video too!)

    Reply

  5. Lisa Brennan
    Mar 03, 2012 @ 13:56:52

    Hey Sus! Read the newest post, then looked back through these. Figure you probably know this one, aimed more at breast cancer, but I find it inspiring: Martina McBride, I’m Gonna Love You Through It. And another country-ish song that helped me through a rough time: If You’re Going Through Hell by Rodney Atkins. And these for making me move: And We Danced by the Hooters, Goody Two Shoes by Adam Ant. So many more WONDERFUL songs out there, thanks for sharing your list! I think of you guys often, constant prayers headed in your direction!!

    Reply

  6. Heidi and Anna
    Mar 06, 2012 @ 23:39:20

    Calling all Angels, Jane Siberry

    Reply

  7. susdragon
    Mar 07, 2012 @ 15:40:19

    Got that one (this is the duet version with kd lang and is just so spiritual and chilling, always reminds me of the first time I heard Jane sing it at Queens several years back at Grant Hall. Did you go to that? Goosebumps!

    Since then, I remembered that I forgot to add Morning Has Broken by Cat Stevens. Sometimes its simplicity and spirituality just makes me cry!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

